You are here

The Annual

The ANNUAL 2015

THE ANNUAL: An Exhibition of New Chicago Art
September 18-20, 2015

Taking place during EXPO ART WEEK, The Annual is a yearly sales exhibition celebrating cutting-edge Chicago-based artists. Arranged by two guest curators, The Annual creates an accessible forum for emerging collectors to discover affordable new work and engage directly with its creators.

We are pleased to announce Claudine Isé and Alexandria Eregbu as the curators for the inaugural presentation of The Annual.

Claudine Isé
Lead Curator

Claudine Isé is a Chicago-based writer, educator, and curator. She is a Visiting Clinical Assistant Professor in the School of Art and Art History at the University of Illinois, Chicago (UIC), where she teaches in the Museum and Exhibition Studies Program. Most recently, Isé was Executive Director of Woman Made Gallery, a feminist contemporary art space in Chicago. She holds a PhD in Film, Literature and Culture from USC, and an MA in Critical Studies in Film, also from USC.

Alexandria Eregbu
Assistant Curator

Alexandria Eregbu is a visual artist whose work often takes shape in the form of performance, programming, and curatorial practices. Her concerns frequently address community, materiality, performativity, and visibility of racialized and gendered bodies in space.  Eregbu received her BFA from the School of the Arts Institute of Chicago. She was recently highlighted in Newcity’s Breakout Artists 2015: Chicago’s Next Generation of Image Makers — and is anticipating a Curatorial Fellowship and Artist Residency with ACRE this upcoming year.

Friday, September 18
Chartwell/Chubb Curators Breakfast, 9am-11am - During the event, guests will have the opportunity to experience the Tesla Model S.
Art After Hours by EXPO Chicago, 6pm-9pm

Saturday, September 19
Gallery Talk with 2015 Curators, Claudine Isé and Alexandria Eregbu, 6:30pm-8pm

2015 Exhibiting Artists: Alfredo Salazar-Caro, Kiam Marcelo Junio, Macon Reed, Michelle Anne Harris, 
Noël Morical, Susy Bielak, Alejandro Figueredo Diaz-Perera, Chelsea Culp, Danielle Dobies, Jean Alexander Frater, Jeroen Nelemans, Neha Vedpathak, Phaedra Call, Sherwin Ovid, Bryan Volta, Anna Martine Whitehead, David Alekhuogie, Danny Giles, Krista Franklin, Esau McGhee, Johana Moscoso, Sonja Thomsen, Meg Leary and Sarah Beth Woods.

             Chartwell and Chubb
                  Herman Miller
                 Harvest Juicery
              Glazed and Infused
        Browne Goodwin, Collector


In its inaugural year sponsors of The Annual actively shape what it means to be a collector—by offering an intimate environment where individuals can connect with global collectors and artists, providing a point of entry for emerging buyers. These individual collectors are crucial to fostering emerging artists’ careers and sustaining the wider art marketplace. To get involved, please contact Mary DeYoe, Special Projects Manager at

For information on past year's galleries, sponsors and more, please see EDITION Chicago 2014.


Chicago Artists Coalition is a Proud Partner of EXPO CHICAGO